Purpose of CPD

The purpose of the CPD Policy is to inform ABSA Accredited Assessors about the CPD requirements for continued NatHERS and ABSA accreditation

Continuing Professional Development(CPD) in this category relates specifically to Accredited Assessors. As ABSA expands its membership to other membership categories, where required CPD requirements will be developed to meet each category needs.

Why CPD?

CPD for Assessors is required for accreditation purposes under the NatHERS Protocol and for accreditation with ABSA. It aims to ensure that the skills and knowledge Assessors acquire, in their initial foundation training, remains current and is constantly updated.

Ongoing CPD is also required to build the skills and knowledge levels within the industry and to ensure that Assessors can provide the best advice to clients on the changes that can be made to their homes and small businesses.

CPD should however also be viewed as a means of developing and expanding your skills as a Building Professional

NB. It is a responsibility of businesses that employ Accredited Assessors to ensure that their Assessors keep their accreditation up to date and undertake adequate CPD.

CPD Activities

CPD does not include any activities associated with the gaining of initial qualifications and accreditation to become an assessor, or work-related projects.

CPD is the systematic maintenance, improvement and broadening of knowledge and skills, and the development of personal qualities necessary for the competent execution of professional and technical duties throughout an Assessor’s working career.


The key elements of the CPD program are outlined below:

Number of points to be earned

An Assessor must earn at least 12 CPD points in total each year from the following categories:

  • Category 1 – 6 points are mandatory each year
  • Category 2 – 6 points each year. Can be less than 6 points if 12 points are achieved in total combined with Category 1. On the other hand, Category 2 points cannot substitute for the required Category 1 points

Assessors can earn more CPD points than the minimum, but no more than 6 excess point can be carried forward to the following years CPD total.

These points may can come from ABSA or third party CPD activities.

Types of CPD activities

There are two categories of CPD activities and they are characterised by the level of knowledge/expertise imparted by the activity, not by the style, format, course length, educational institution or forum providing the information:

Category 1 – Expert Professional, Regulatory and Advanced Technical Knowledge

Category 2 – Industry Knowledge (such as professional activities, seminars, conferences).

The simple test to determine whether an activity is Category 1 or 2 is to answer the question: Does the activity provide an Assessor with advanced building sustainability and thermal performance knowledge/expertise (Category 1) or generic/industry knowledge (Category 2)?

Generally, points are earned at the rate of 1 point per hour. However, if an Assessor wishes to write articles, prepare CPD materials, mentor other assessors, contribute to industry bodies, sit on a government advisory committee, or complete a relevant qualification they will gain a set number of points in Category 1 per activity (number to be confirmed in consultation with ABSA prior to the event/activity) not per hour.

Category 1 – Expert Professional, Regulatory and Advanced Technical Knowledge

Expert Professional: Knowledge required to be a reliable source of expertise in the building sustainability and energy efficiency industry. This includes techniques or skills to judge or decide rightly where there is ambiguity or lack of official direction. Expertise gained is to be considered authoritative by peers and the public.

Regulatory: Knowledge about gathering and analysing publicly available regulatory information. This includes understanding the implications and applications of that information, as well as monitoring the current regulatory environment for opportunities to shape future regulations, guidance, policy and legislation.

Advanced Technical: Knowledge that is predominantly intellectual in character and includes the science and technologies associated with building sustainability, energy efficiency and carbon reduction, and which is acquired through specialised intellectual instruction.

Category 2 – Industry Knowledge

Industry Knowledge: General knowledge, techniques and principles necessary to achieve a minimum standard of industry expertise and awareness of issues related to building sustainability, energy efficiency, carbon reduction and energy or thermal performance assessments.


Assessors must record CPD events in their member record on the ABSA website including evidence such as a Certificate of Completion, receipt or ticket. ABSA organised events will be added automatically after the event.

Where evidence is not available a summary of what was learnt is required. Summaries can be used for up to 2 points only.

Please Note

Limited ABSA CPD modules are now available within the Events and Training section. Whilst ABSA provides CPD resources for its members to access and learn from, it is not a specialist provider and ABSA assessors are expected to research and complete approved training/courses with other organisations (that are eligible for accrual of points) to fulfil their CPD requirements.