Cetification Required to become an Accredited Assessor

In July 2013 the CPP41212 Certificate IV in NatHERS Assessment became the minimum qualification required for prospective assessors to undertake residential building thermal performance assessments across Australia. From November 12 2019, CPP41212 has been superseded by CPP41119.

All NatHERS Accredited Assessors must hold a Certificate IV in one of the following qualifications:

  • Certificate IV in Home Energy Efficiency and Sustainability (Thermal Performance Assessment) - CPP41119

  • Certificate IV in Home Energy Efficiency and Sustainability (Home Sustainability Assessment and Thermal Performace Assessment) - CPP41119

  • Certificate IV in NatHERS Assessment - CPP41212


Qualification Overview and Course Outline

CPP41119 - Qualification Overview

 CPP41119 - Course Outline.

CPP41212 - Qualification Overview (Superseded as of November 2019)

CPP 41212  Course Outline


The qualification is currently available from Registered Training Organisations (RTOs). Find an RTO that is currently offering CPP41119 or CPP41212 here. 


Requirements to Maintain and Renew Assessor Accreditation:

  • Payment of ABSA individual Membership Fees (only fully paid members can renew accreditation)

  • Compliance with the ABSA Code of Practice (Effective October 2017)

  • Compliance with procedures published in the NatHERS Rating Practice Notes

  • Holding of current and adequate Professional Indemnity Insurance. To purchase ABSA group professional indemnity insurance please visit our online store

  • Payment of ABSA annual Accreditation Fees

  • Submission of assessments for quality assurance auditing when requested

  • Completion of 12 points of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) from Categories 1 and 2 each year, with a minimum of 6 points from Category 1. Please view the Continuing Professional Development modules currently on offer.